Beating To Teshima

by sarahartonsherkin

When I look at this image by Christian Boltanski I am there, out at sea, moving towards this island..

Appearing, disappearing
A pilgrim reflects
As heartbeats remain

 

christian

Les Archives du Coeur, Insel Ejima, Japan, 2008

by

Christian Boltanski

 

“I believe all artists ought to think about the relationship with the space and the relationship with what is in that space. We are not standing in front of a work but inside it.”

“Because it is the idea of the journey that interests me.”

“We can do many things but not fight passing time.”

“I think there are two types of art: the art of time (works that have a beginning and an end, like films and literature) and the art of space. I consider myself a sculptor, an artist who works in space.”

